Speedometer not accurate - Honda Valkyrie F6C Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By JackB
  • 1 Post By Poncho
  • 1 Post By bscrive
  • 1 Post By use2b
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 10:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Beloeil, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Speedometer not accurate

Have you ever noticed this problem? When my friends who owns Valkyrie 1500 rolls at 115km / h my speedometer shows 123km / h. A whole difference. My Garmin GPS shows pretty much the same thing. I own a Goldwing Valkyrie 2014.
valk2 is online now  
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Two Rivers wis
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
I think the new Valkyrie is accurate the old Valkyries are off by 4-5 mph.
use2b likes this.

Let's Ride
JackB is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Jambriwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Hamburg NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jambriwal
There was a class action suit against Honda cars years back for optimistic speedometer/odometers that read to high. It involved a warranty claim. The defendents won. Most Japenese motorcycles used to read 3 to five mph faster than they were traveling. I think they are better today. My Harleys were more accurate. If i showed the difference on gps they usually dismissed this. OK. Cannot make them drink the water.

Directions ? That's only the Manufacturer's opinion of the way this should be assembled.
Jambriwal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Poncho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 'tween the Red River and the Wall, what we call the free fire zone
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
when mfgs went to all electronic systems then they were able to modify / calibrate such things as Speedo and other data. Most bikes now get their Input signal from the Transmission Output shaft.. earlier systems utilized mechanical Fixed Ratio devices usually from the front axle. With Electronic Systems most new Instrument gauges can be switched between American and Metric units. it just requires going thru the Set Up program. this should also allow you to calibrate speedo error if you change tire sizes.
use2b likes this.
Poncho is online now  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
bscrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
When I have a gps on my Valk, it usually registers pretty close with my speedo.
use2b likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bscrive is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: East Alton IL
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Went by one of those "Your Speed" things about an hour ago and it was exactly what the speedo was reading so I'm good
Flat Six is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Poncho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 'tween the Red River and the Wall, what we call the free fire zone
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flat Six View Post
Went by one of those "Your Speed" things about an hour ago and it was exactly what the speedo was reading so I'm good
f6, good as in legal or good as in accurate? the higher the speed the more accurate the measurement is. more data, bigger sample for the system to process.
Poncho is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Member
 
use2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Perdido Key Florida
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
just shows the US models are faster than the Canadian models ......
Geepers likes this.

The best part of growing up in Florida is i didn't have to move here when i got old .
use2b is online now  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Poncho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 'tween the Red River and the Wall, what we call the free fire zone
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by use2b View Post
just shows the US models are faster than the Canadian models ......
well them metric guys are use to all things being smaller so they have to use bigger numbers to ease their insecurities. 100kmh is a mere 62mph. so they may actually be faster but we are definitely bigger. poncho
Poncho is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Valkyrie F6C Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome