Newbie here - Honda Valkyrie F6C Forum

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 07:34 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Newbie here

Hello from Michigan's Upper Peninsula'

Will be picking up my "new" 1998 Valkyrie Tourer today. This "old geezer" bought it from another old geezer that had to quit riding. Bike has 22,000 original miles and was well taken care of. Looks like new.
Anyway, I have had a number of different bikes in the past from the first one, an early 70's Honda 550 4 into 2 to the last one a Harley Roadglide that just got too big and top heavy. Valkyrie specs at 68 pounds lighter but seems a lot lighter probably because lots of weight is down low because of opposed cylinders. Had no trouble lifting it off side stand or balancing when up, and no feeling like it wanted to go down when the front wheel was turned all way to the side when stopped. Very happy here as I can continue riding a road bike. Looking back, up to this point I am most fond of a 1984 Harley Goldwing that I never should have gotten rid of, but hindsight is always good. From the time that I saw my first Valkyrie I always thought that would be the bike to have and as luck would have it, I found one at a very good price so bought it right away. I know it is older technology, carbs, etc., compared to new bikes, but I am willing to accept that. Best part of this is that I never personally talked to a Honda mechanic that had to tear a Honda GW motor apart because of a major problem inside. Looking forward to being a part of the discussions here.

Lou
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 08:32 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Welcome, I had 2 Valkyrie's (1998 Tourer & 99 I.S.) great bike's you will love yours.
There is a gathering of Valkyrie's in the UP coming up August 9 and 10th check it out.
I will be there on my F6B
http://www.valkyrieforum.com/bbs/ind...,104799.0.html