bike died while riding, possibly snapped throttle cable? - Honda Valkyrie F6C Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
turboyoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Garage
bike died while riding, possibly snapped throttle cable?

So I was on my way to work and suddenly the engine lost all power. I kinda felt something clunk or snap but was paying too much attention to the road to really notice it. Anyway the bike coasted to a stop, I could shift gears fine but twist the throttle and nothing. It's at the shop now but they won't get to it til at least tuesday. Anyone else experience something like this? Any other ideas?
turboyoshi is offline  
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Poncho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 'tween the Red River and the Wall, what we call the free fire zone
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboyoshi View Post
Anyone else experience something like this? Any other ideas?
turbs, well its the schitts when your sled goes belly up and you cant fix it yourself and have to wait for somebody else to get a round tuit. that is why I keep at least one spare bike, well actually two. sometimes more. at least I am not suffering in silence waiting for somebody to get one of those round tuits. hey you asked for ideas.
Poncho is online now  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
"Snapped throttle cable?"

I believe our Valks are ride-by-wire....ie no throttle cable
Geepers is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Two Rivers wis
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
I'm pretty sure our bike's have a throttle cable

Let's Ride
JackB is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
turboyoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Garage
If I could afford a 2nd bike, I'd have one already, thanks though.
turboyoshi is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
turboyoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
I'm pretty sure our bike's have a throttle cable
Yeah I've got 2 cables on the right side, one's the front brake, what the heck would the other one be for except the throttle?
turboyoshi is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Poncho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 'tween the Red River and the Wall, what we call the free fire zone
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboyoshi View Post
Yeah I've got 2 cables on the right side, one's the front brake, what the heck would the other one be for except the throttle?
and this is why we have Honda dealer shops to solve these murky questions..


those two cables on your right side throttle are both throttle cables. One is Pull on throttle, the other is Pull off throttle and they work opposite each other for positive throttle control. what geeps is refereeing to is these cables go to a control unit under the tank that converts rotation (pull) into a demand signal for the ECU to drive an electric throttle servo motor. This is very old skool method. most All new systems have the resistor control unit built into the hand control unit and use wires directly to the ECU. no cables needed. that is a leftover from carburetor days. history.


as for your front brake / cable it is that hydraulic cylinder and rubber hose that feeds your two front calipers. ABS models route this back to another control unit that is monitoring wheel rotation and applying appropriate pressure to avoid wheel lock up.


your Honda dealer should be able to plug their computer into your bike and get an instant diagnosis of problems and history. from that they can determine what needs fixing and what they can overcharge you for. technology, you got to love it.
Poncho is online now  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Union Mo
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
This bike Does Not have electronic throttle.2 cables go to 2 barrel throttle body. Play with the on/off rocker switch.Some failures reported with that part .I dont have a service manual yet to study.But pulling fault codes would be next place to test
Patrick L is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
turboyoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Garage
This is definitely not an issue with the rocker switch. I'm familiar with those problems. The bike died while riding, a bad rocker switch wouldn't cause that, + when I twist the throttle, the engine didn't rev which makes me think it's a fuel delivery issue or a throttle cable. It was too dark to do an inspection on the side of the road so I had it towed to the nearest dealership. It's been a week and they still haven't gotten to look at it, kinda pisses me off, esp since this is my only ride. Wish I knew a mechanic in my area now. Definitely gonna research options for the future.
turboyoshi is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
they have a cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
I'm pretty sure our bike's have a throttle cable
Afta is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Valkyrie F6C Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome